Board of Directors

AHA Board of Directors


Gailyn Bopp, President

Gailyn Bopp is the University Archivist at the Brigham Young University Hawaiʻi Archives and Assistant Professor in the BYU- Hawaiʻi Faculty of Culture, Language & Performing Arts. She has formally served on the Association of Hawaiʻi Archivists board as a Director and as the Annual Meeting Chair (2019). Other prior service engagements include serving on the board of the Hawaiʻi Library Association, Society of American Archivists Graduate Archival Education committee member, and on the board of the student-led Na Hawaiʻi Imi Loa. Gailyn graduated with her MLISc degree from the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa in 2016 with emphasis in Archives and is a member of Beta Phi Mu. 


Cynthia Engle, President-Elect, 2021-2022

Cynthia Engle is a Certified Archivist and the Executive Director of the Hawaiian Historical Society.  Her passion is connecting collections to the community and is dedicated to preserving historical materials and collaborating to develop engaging programming and outreach services. Originally from the Big Island, Cynthia obtained her dual degrees in Anthropology and Art History from Ithaca College and a MLISc from the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa where she became a member of Beta Phi Mu. With over 12 years of professional experience, Cynthia has held numerous positions in academic and special libraries, archives, and records management in state, federal, and private institutions.


Mary Campany, Director – Secretary, 2021-2023

Mary Campany is the collections librarian at the Japanese Cultural Center of Hawaiʻi. She manages the organization’s Resource Center and preserves its collection of books, archival material, historic photographs, and oral history interviews. She earned a MLISc from the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa in 2017, and is a member of Beta Phi Mu. She also holds a BA in English with a minor in Japanese.

Stuart Ching, Director, 2020-2022

Stuart Ching is the archivist for the Congregation of the Sacred Hearts, a missionary congregation that brought Catholicism to Hawaiʻi in 1827. Having worked in several institutions in Hawaiʻi, Stuart has a broad range of experience working with different types of collections and the historical perspectives they represent. Former positions he has held include: collections manager of art and archivist at Bishop Museum; curator/registrar and interim executive director at Mission Houses Museum; research associate, education coordinator, and curator at ʻIolani Palace. He currently serves as appointed diocesan historiographer of the Episcopal Church in Hawaiʻi. Stuart is a graduate of Kenyon College in Ohio. 

Kelsey Karsin, Director, 2021-2023

Kelsey Karsin was most recently the Curator of Archives/Librarian at the Hawaiian Mission Houses Historic Site and Archives from 2020-2021. Before working at the Mission Houses, Kelsey worked as Office Registrar at the Honolulu Museum of Art School from 2012-2018. In 2018, Kelsey decided to go to grad school to pursue a career in library/archival studies. During her time in grad school, she completed a remote internship with the Button Museum in Chicago. She holds a B.F.A. in printmaking from the University of Hawai’i at Mānoa and an M.L.I.S. from San Jose State University.

Carol Kellett, Director – Treasurer, 2021-2023

Carol Kellett is an Archivist at the Hawai‘i State Archives. Her responsibilities include providing reference assistance to researchers, processing archival materials, processing certification requests, and learning about the vast collection of government and manuscript collections housed within the Hawai‘i State Archives. Prior to her current position at the Archives, Carol worked as a systems librarian at UHM Hamilton Library and a reference librarian at the William S. Richardson School of Law Library. In her many years of professional service, she has served on the board of the Hawaiʻi Library Association as its Secretary, President and Elections Committee Chair, and currently serves in the UHM College of Arts and Sciences Alumni Association and UHM LIS Alumni Association boards. Carol holds a B.A. in Mathematics and a MLIS from the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa. She is a member of Beta Phi Mu.

Jenn Magdaloyo, Director, 2020-2022

Jenn Magdaloyo left the islands in 2017 for a two-year adventure on the mainland after completing her MLISc with a focus in Archival Studies from the University of Hawaiʻi. She spent time in Seattle and San Diego, but returned to the islands in January 2020.  While serving as a volunteer at the San Diego History Center she helped process donor collections, re-house and label archival folders.  In addition to her LIS degree, Jenn also holds a Master’s Degree in American Studies, graduate certificate in Museum Studies and a graduate certificate in Archival Studies.  She is now working at Waiawa Correctional Facility as a Corrections librarian.

Tonia Sutherland, Director, 2021-2023

Tonia Sutherland is an assistant professor in the Library and Information Science Program at the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa where she leads the Archives Pathway. ​Sutherland is the Director of the Initiative for the Study of Underrepresented Cultures and Ethnicities (SOURCE) ​Hawaiʻi, and is​ particularly invested in the critical and liberatory work undertaken by archives and archivists. At UH, she teaches and conducts research in archival studies; ​cultural heritage preservation and management (intangible, material, and digital); community engagement; and the unique archival challenges that face island communities worldwide.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s